top of page

Why is my motivation?


As a fairly new writer, one of the things that fascinates me the most is when my characters rebel against my plotline, take on a life of their own, and start to call the shots. Despite what I may think, I don't, in fact, know best.


This is both an exhilerating and a terrifying process. In a way, the writing is much easier because the characters will only logically act in certain ways. On the other hand...where the hell is this story going? As a control freak, I like things to fit into neat little boxes, but as a writer, my characters coming to life feels more authentic and tells me I'm doing something right.


When I stop asking myself what the character is reacting to and instead ask myself why they're reacting this way, I find it's a more believable character arc. Two people can share the same experience and respond in completely different ways because...well, they're different people.


I've stopped typing in disgust when I realized my protagonist just wasn't going to do what I'd planned. It wasn't true to him. And I've typed in wonder, the words flying onto the page as the characters did and said what they wanted. It makes me sound insane but I think any writer would understand.


At the end of a book, I feel like I really know these people, shared something with them, and I think that's the experience every reader is looking for as well.


bottom of page